PGC Newsletter 02.05.2024


  • Exciting times with our Pennant team making the finals. If we should win, we will go up a grade in the competition, opening up the chance to enter another team into pennants.
  • The draws for the Day and Carthew Cups and the Fourball Championship will be out at the end of next week.
  • We have entered a team in the men’s pennants competition that commences in June.
  • Please get entries in for our Yellow Tee tournament on 11th May.


Riverside Cup – Round 5 of 6 will be played here on Friday 17th May versus Carterton. We are currently in 4th place, our neighbours Eketahuna are well ahead.

Weekend Pennant – On Sunday, 14th April, our team of Pam Bisset and Bronwyn Smith halved with Manawatu at Feilding. Last Sunday, Steph Tisdall and Colleen Daysh lost to Palmerston North 2 at Rangitikei, and this coming Sunday Pam Bisset and Steph will represent the club and will play leaders Wanganui at Castlecliff. We are in 5th place. The finals are being played at Linton Camp on Sunday 19th.

Monday Pennant – Round 5 is being played at Feilding versus Marton on 13th May. Marton and our team are placed at 3rd equal in their division.


Pennant – The scheduled match against Tawhero was postponed to last Sunday where our team of Keiran Pierey, Jason Smith, Nigel Pearson, Noel Coombe, Steve McHardy, and Colin Wallace had a 9-0 win over the home team. We are in the finals, being played at Linton Camp on Saturday 18th.

Marquis Shield – Our team of Danny Pierey, Nigel, Shaun Smith, Steve, Noel, Brett MacDougall, Mark Hemopo, Lionel Toheriri, Peter Bourke, Mark Thomson, Sam Gordon, and Graham Thomson beat Masterton 8 ½ to 3 ½ at Mahunga. Well done! Our team is in second place in the Marquis Shield, 2nd= in Workman Cup, leading in the Intermediate Cup and is 4th in the Junior Sutherland Trophy. Next round is at Masterton where we play Mahunga. A busy weekend.


Saturday 13th April – Bourke Cup Rd2 (Stableford)

1st Jared Bambry 39 points

2nd Joe Cuttance 37 points

3rd Keiran Pierey 35 points

Closest to Pin

#9 – Lawrence Aspinall

#12 - Keiran

Twos – Lawrence (9) and eagle (13), Keiran (9) and (12), Ollie Bambry (4)

Sunday 14th April – Bourke Cup Rd2 (Stableford) and TC Day sponsored by TK


1st Peter Timmins 40 points

2nd Lionel Toheriri 39 points

3rd Tony Kerins 38 points


1st Tod Hislop 48 points

2nd Neville Burgess 36 points

3rd Jo Bisset 35 points c/b

Closest to Pin

#12 – Stu Huddleston

Twos – Nigel Pearson (14) Grant Thurlow

Tuesday 16th April  – Nancy MacCormick Foursomes 18 holes (Nett)

1st Dawn Smith and Mary McAvoy 77 nett

2nd Pam Bisset and Denise Galvin 78.5 nett

With a 36-hole total of 145 nett, Dawn and Mary have won our club Nancy MacCormick Foursomes for this year. This score is sent through to Manawatu-Wanganui and pitted against other scores from within our District. The best nett score from there is sent through to NZGolf to determine the best pairing nationally.

Dawn and Mary also win the local Isa Braggins trophy.

Thursday 18th April - Stableford

1st Bryan Doherty 37 points

2nd Peter Bourke 37 points

3rd Sam Gordon 34 points

Saturday 20th April – Bourke Cup Rd3 (Stableford)

1st Mark Hemopo 40 points

2nd Mark Thomson 39 points

3rd Sam Gordon 38 points

Closest to Pin

#9 – Lionel Toheriri

#12 – Lisa Cotton

Twos – Lawrence Aspinall (9), Keiran Pierey (4) and Lionel (9)

Tuesday 23rd April – LGU Silver Medal and Stableford Button

1st Trish Cuttance 68 nett

2nd Dawn Smith 68 nett

3rd Bronwyn Smith 70 nett

4th Colleen Daysh 72 nett

5th Raewyn Newman 75 nett

6th Mary McAvoy 76 nett

Trish Cuttance and Dawn Smith jointly won Silver Medal (nett 68) and Stableford Button (41 points)

Twos – Lynne Huddleston (9), Bronwyn Smith (18)

Longest Putt (18): Pam Huddleston

Thursday 25th April – ANZAC DAY 1-club challenge

Won by Tia Wilson on a nett 77. Tia, using a 5-iron for the challenge, is the first woman to win this competition. Congratulations and well done. I heard you played very well, Tia.

Other results: 2nd Tony Kerins 78 nett, 3rd Tod Hislop 79 nett, 4th Darryl Sowry 80 nett, 5th Jordan Bennett-Davies 81 nett, 6th Lee Thomson 82 nett on countback.

There were 30 players in the field.

Saturday 27th April – MacDougalls AMBROSE – thanks Brett

1st Woodville Wormburners (Sam Boyden, Mark Field, Dylan Field, and Scott Field) 55.875 nett

2nd Possum’s Posse (Jamie, Megan and Dawn Smith, and Philip Archibald) 58.125 nett

3rd United (Taine Mitchell, Aaron Liew, Brett Garett, and Jason Morris) 58.25

4th MacDougalls (Brett MacDougall, Peter Timmins, Colin Terry, and Grant Squires) 59.75 nett

5th Willie’s Mob – (Willie Wilson, Tia Wilson, Ray Taylor, and Vince Salmon) 60.375 nett

Individual Closest to the Pin – Seona Ashton

Longest Putt (team) Dark Horse (Jared Brock, Brett McAree, Guy Lennox, and Grant Thurlow)

2nd shot to the green (team) MacDougalls.

Random drawn prizes – Wonderful Woodville Women (Seona, Paula McCool, Lynne Huddleston, and Mary McAvoy), and Woodville Wormburners.

Tuesday 30th April – Nassau (Stableford) 1st 9,  2nd 9

1st Nine

1st Steph Tisdall 19 points

2nd Pam Huddleston 18 points

2nd Nine

1st Seona Ashton 21 points

2nd Mary McAvoy 19 points


Two – Seona (14)

Closest to the Pin (9): Megan Smith


Posted: Wednesday 1 May 2024